Study on Opportunities for Businesses to Promote Child Rights in Cobalt Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining Launching Dec. 8


The Centre for Child Rights and Business (The Centre) and Save the Children are jointly launching a study called “Opportunities for Businesses to Promote Child Rights in Cobalt Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining” on Dec 8 at 2 p.m. CET (9 pm HKT, 8 am ET). This study sheds light on the current situation of children in cobalt Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining (ASM) communities and the opportunities for companies to improve child rights. 

 

Why a study on child rights and business in cobalt ASM?


Cobalt is an key ingredient to power the rechargeable lithium batteries used in millions of products, and as such is essential mineral for the green transition.

Despite controversy surrounding the presence of ASM cobalt in international supply chains, ASM is an essential lifeline for over 200,000 workers and families in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), where most of the world’s supply of cobalt is sourced from. This complex situation therefore warrants a pragmatic approach, preceded by a thorough understanding of workers’ needs and the opportunities for creating positive change in the sector.

 

Event speakers


  • Florian Westphal, CEO, Save the Children Germany (opening remarks)

  • Ines Kaempfer, CEO, The Centre for Child Rights and Business (presentation of study findings)

  • Claudia Becker, Purchasing & Supplier Network, Supply Chain Sustainability, BMW Group,Germany

  • Marie-Chantal Kaninda, Executive Director, Head of Corporate Affairs, Glencore (panelist)

  • Josee-Blandine Ongotto, Project Manager, ILO COTECCO Project by ILA/OCFT - USDOL, DRC

  • David Sturmes, Director of Programmes and Operations, The Impact Facility 

  • Anna Thinius, Manager Sustainable Supply Chains, Save the Children Germany (panelist)


  • Mark Robertson, Senior Vice President, Communications and Outreach, The Centre for Child Rights and Business (panel moderator)


Event details

 

Time and date: Dec. 8, 2-3:30 pm CET | 9-10:30 pm HKT | 8-9:30 am ET

Language: English with French simultaneous interpretation

Register: please email us to request a registration link


Published on 19/11/2021

Recent News

Check Out Our Services

Leave a message

By clicking submit, you agree to The Centre’s Privacy Policy, and Terms of Use.

Submit
Join our mailing list to receive our quarterly newsletter and other major updates.
©2021 The Centre for Child Rights and Business Privacy Policy Terms of use

By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies. We use cookies to provide you with a great experience and to help our website run effectively.